Hospital donors make a difference

CMH Foundation hosts tribute to giving

ASTORIA, Ore. — On the eve of the CMH-OHSU Knight Cancer Collaborative’s first anniversary, Columbia Memorial Hospital Foundation honored donors and community leaders who made this achievement possible.

awards ceremonyOn Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018, at the CMH Foundation’s annual Celebration of Giving, Cancer Collaborative Director Chris Laman reported that the new center has saved people with cancer 3,700 trips out of the area to receive radiation therapy in its first year.

The evening culminated with the presentation of three awards that honor extraordinary leadership that embodies the spirit of philanthropy — both at the hospital and in the community.

Laman presented Dr. Jennifer Lycette with the Caduceus Award, which recognizes a physician or provider who has gone above and beyond to advance philanthropy at CMH and in the community. Dr. Lycette moved to Astoria five years ago to take on the role of medical director of CMH’s medical oncology clinic.

After meeting several patients who refused potentially lifesaving cancer treatment because of the burden of traveling for radiation therapy, she became a vocal advocate for expanding the collaboration between Columbia Memorial Hospital and Oregon Health & Science University. Both Laman and CEO Erik Thorsen credited her for inspiring the creation of the Cancer Collaborative.

Bill Garvin, the chair of the Foundation, presented The Terry Award, which was named in honor of Terry Finklein, who served as the hospital’s CEO for over 20 years. The Terry Award recognizes a volunteer leader who has gone above and beyond to advance philanthropy at the hospital and in the community.

Linda Jones was named this year’s Terry Award winner. “Linda joined our community several years ago as a Coast Guard spouse. Since then, she has enhanced the communication and support provided to our Coast Guard families, been a key player in putting on the Race to the Bar fundraiser for Lower Columbia Hospice, and in making improvements to the Master Gardeners Program.”

The President’s Award, named for CMH’s current President and CEO Erik Thorsen, recognizes a hospital employee. The 2018 recipient was nurse Laura Parvi. She was recognized for her tireless work with the Clatsop County Relay for Life. Parvi served as the event chair this year and has rallied family and friends around the cause for more than two decades.

Penny Cowden, executive director of CMH Foundation said, “People who donate their time, treasure and talent make great things possible now and for future generations. It’s a privilege to be able to take an evening to just say, ‘Thanks.’”

Masks continue to be required at CMH for patients, caregivers, and visitors.Learn More