CMH caregiver named Nurse of the Year

Jamee Meier, RN, fifth CMH nurse in a row to win the award

By Judy Geiger, Vice President of Patient Care Services

Jamee MeierFor the fifth year in a row, the March of Dimes named a CMH caregiver “Nurse of the Year.” Please join me in congratulating Jamee Meier, RN, who won in the Ambulatory/Clinic Care Nurse category for Oregon and Southwest Washington! The Ambulatory/Clinic Care award goes to a nurse who demonstrates excellence in delivering care to patients in the outpatient setting.

Jamee has worked at CMH for 16 years. Since November 2018, she has been a nurse in the Orthopedics Clinic. Prior to her role there, she spent many years leading the Medical Group as director. She also has experience as a floor nurse on Med/Surg and OB and as clinic nurse supervisor and clinic manager. 

During her time at CMH, she has served as a Champion for Just Culture and Relay for Life. She was also a key member of the Operation Bunny Suit team and led the Planetree Outpatient Experience A-team for two years. 

Jamee says she was inspired by the awards celebration and impressed by the quality of winners in the past. 

“It is exciting and humbling to be chosen by your peers for this honor,” she says, “not just for one thing that you’ve done, but for the whole of what you’ve done in your career.”

Jeanette Schacher, director of the CMH Medical Group, worked alongside Jamee when she was in the same position and says she is well-deserving of the award.

“Jamee has been an integral part of the success of the CMH Medical Group,” Schacher says. “From her years as a leader to her recent transition to the Orthopedics Clinic nurse, Jamee wants what’s best for her patients and community. She is a passionate advocate for quality care.”

A group of Nurse of the Year nominees from CMH

A group of Nurse of the Year nominees from CMH

It’s a great recognition for a critical access hospital to have someone nominated and win. Every year, we have multiple nurses nominated for Nurse of the Year, and to have had so many winners is pretty exciting. It’s an acknowledgement of the great care the nurses provide here. 

I’d also like to congratulate all of the other Nurse of the Year nominees for 2019: Mackenzie Payton, Shannon Lackey, Brett Byers, Kendra Gohl, Meghan Standridge, Shannon Klein, Jenny Wohosky, Angie Tucker, Barbara Tienhaara, Lizzie Wiedmaier, Emily Brizendine, Jay Reynolds, Maria Shipley, Ryan Taggart, Suzanne McGuffin, Tara Hano, Kelsey Betts, Kristy Haglund, Ingrid Boettcher and Brooke Duncan.

Previous Nurse of the Year winners from CMH are Margaret Santee (2018), Jenny Wohosky (2017), Kendra Gohl (2016) and Laura Brown (2015).


Masks continue to be required at CMH for patients, caregivers, and visitors.Learn More