Working together to deliver the highest quality healthcare


CMH’s Leadership Team

The leadership team at Columbia Memorial Hospital (CMH) is committed to fostering a culture of excellence, and we believe that excellence begins with each of us. Our diverse backgrounds, collective professional experiences in the healthcare field, and our shared vision for achieving the highest level of quality, safety and patient-satisfaction, helps us to grow and support our team of nearly 700 caregivers. 

Members of the leadership team are responsible for achieving the organization’s overall strategic goals for 2018-2022, which include:

  • Becoming the Regional Leader in Rural Healthcare
  • Enhancing the Patient and Caregiver Experience
  • Assuring Long-Term Financial Health
  • Developing a System for Population Health Management

We invite you to contact any member of the CMH leadership team if you have a question or concern.

Meet the Team

Portrait of Erik Thorsen

Erik Thorsen, Chief Executive Officer

Erik Thorsen has served as Columbia Memorial Hospital’s Chief Executive Officer since 2010, and has been part of CMH’s leadership since 2003 when he served as both Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer. Under Erik’s leadership, CMH has achieved and sustained the distinction of a Designated-Planetree Hospital.

“Working to improve the health and well-being for those living on Oregon’s North Coast region is a true privilege. I am honored to serve our community, as well as the caregivers at Columbia Memorial Hospital who are dedicated to the advancement of patient care, safety and quality.”


Columbia Memorial Hospital, Astoria, Oregon
Nicole Williams, Chief Operating Officer

Nicole Williams joined CMH in April 2017 as the Director of Human Resources and Operational Development. She was named the organization’s Chief Operating Officer in Feb. 2018. In this role, she oversees day-to-day operations of the organization.

“I am grateful to be part of a healthcare organization that takes pride in the community and the services it provides.”

Chief Financial Officer at Columbia Memorial Hospital in Astoria, Oregon

Zachary Schmitt, Chief Financial Officer

Zachary Schmitt joined Columbia Memorial Hospital in 2018 as the Chief Financial Officer.


Judy Geiger, Columbia Memorial Hospital, Astoria, Oregon

Judy Geiger, RN, Vice President of Patient Care Services

Judy Geiger joined Columbia Memorial Hospital in January 2019. She has more than three decades of experience as a pediatric nurse and a nurse administrator, including serving as a chief nursing officer and executive director in a large hospital.

Jarrod Karnofski, DPT

Jarrod Karnofski, DPT, Vice President of Ancillary & Support Services

Jarrod Karnofski has been a valued leader holding various management positions at Columbia Memorial Hospital since 2009. In his role as Vice President of Ancillary & Support Services he is dedicated to setting and monitoring the strategic priorities of CMH.

“I am proud to work with caregivers who are dedicated to the mission of CMH and whose first priority is providing outstanding patient care.”



Board of Trustees

As a not-for-profit organization, Columbia Memorial Hospital (CMH) does not have shareholders. Rather it has stakeholders—people and groups that benefit from the hospital’s quality services. Our stakeholders include patients and their families, and people who live and work in the communities we serve, as well as our caregivers, healthcare providers, and other businesses.

The CMH Board of Trustees’ primary responsibility is to protect the interests of the hospital’s stakeholders. The CMH Board of Trustees consists of 15 dedicated volunteer community members. They set the vision and mission of the organization and work toward the shared goal of keeping our hospital viable, and ensuring the delivery of safe, quality healthcare services. 

Portrait of Constance Waisenen

Constance Waisanen
Board President

Portrait of Nancy McAllister

Nancy McAllister
Board Treasurer

Portrait of Mike Autio

Mike Autio

Portrait of Bill Landwehr

Bill Landwehr

Portrait of Doug Kaup

Doug Kaup
Board Vice President

Portrait of Heather Seppa

Heather Seppa
Immediate Past President

Dr. Camilo Rosales

Camilo Rosales, MD

Portrait of Dave Nygaard

Dave Nygaard

Portrait of Dr. Robert Holland

Dr. Robert Holland
Board Secretary

Portrait of Jean Danforth

Jean Danforth
Quality Chair

Columbia Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees

James Heilman, MD

Portrait of Mark Smith

Mark Smith

Ex-Officio Trustees

Columbia Memorial Hospital Foundation Board of Trustees President Bill Garvin

Bill Garvin
CMH Foundation President


Portrait of David Phillips

David Phillips
Trustee Emeritus (deceased)
Served May 1981-August 2019

Columbia Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees

Katherine Hellberg
Trustee Emeritus
Served March 1982-May 2015